South African Music Awards

XXI ANNUAL South African Music Awards 2018


It’s the one category at the South African Music Awards where music fans from across the country get actively involved in determining who’s going home with the statuette. It’s the ultimate test for a local tune – a vote to determine which is the most airtime played record of the year. These will generate excitement amongst the public who relish the opportunity to get involved and see their favourite song take top honours!
Whoever takes home the KIA RECORD OF THE YEAR at the XXI Annual South African Music Awards depends on your vote, so start SMSing. It’s the most loved local song of the year! The competition for this one is tight and the result is a win for music democracy. Stand up and be counted! Make your vote count! The WINNER will be announced on 19 April 2015, voting lines close at 9pm, 19 April 2015.


To vote for your favourite Kia Record of the Year sms “ KIA” followed by the number of your favourite track (e.g.: KIA 1) to 33123. Sms Cost R1.50, free sms’es do not apply. For T’s & C’s go to www.samusicawards.co.za
Visit the KIA Facebook page at www.facebook.com/kiamotorssa to win tickets to the XXI Annual South African Music Awards on the 19th April 2015.


  • KIA 1 Build It Up – Monark
  • KIA 2 Busa – Euphonik, Bob‘Ezy & Mpumi
  • KIA 3 Caracara – K.O ft. Kid X
  • KIA 4 Congratulate – AKA
  • KIA 5 Easy to Love – Bucie ft. Heavy K
  • KIA 6 Pluto [Remember You] – DJ Clock ft. Beatenberg
  • KIA 7 Rafael – Beatenberg
  • KIA 8 Rainbow – Black Motion ft. Xoli M
  • KIA 9 Turn You On – Mi Casa
  • KIA 10 Y Tjukutja – Uhuru ft. Professor, Oskido & DJ Bucks



Album of the Year
Beatenberg The Hanging Gardens of Beatenberg
Cassper Nyovest Tsholofelo
K.O. Skhanda Republic
Ringo Madlingozi Vulani
The Soil Nostalgic Moments
Duo or Group of the Year 
Beatenberg The Hanging Gardens of Beatenberg
Bittereinder Skerm
BlackByrd Home
McCoy Mrubata Brasskap Sessions Vol. 2
The Soil Nostalgic Moments

Female Artist of the Year 
Bucie Princess of House (Easy to Love)
Lulu Dikana I Came to Love
Maleh You Make My Heart Go
Moneoa Ndim Lo
Simphiwe Dana Firebrand

Male Artist of the Year
AKA Levels
Cassper Nyovest Tsholofelo
Jimmy Nevis The Masses
K.O. Skhanda Republic
Ringo Madlingozi Vulani
Newcomer of the Year
Beatenberg The Hanging Gardens of Beatenberg
Cassper Nyovest Tsholofelo
Duncan Street Government
Howie Combrink Eat it While it’s Hot
Jeremy Loops Trading Change
Best Rock Album
aKing Morning After
Prime Circle Let the Night In
Reburn Majestic
Taxi Violence Tenfold
Zebra & Giraffe Knuckles

Best Pop Album
Beatenberg The Hanging Gardens of Beatenberg
Jimmy Nevis The Masses
Monark Negatives
The Kiffness KIFF
Toya Delazy Ascension
Beste Pop Album
Bobby van Jaarsveld Maak ’n Wens
Eden Nooit Oud Raak Nie
Kurt Darren Lied vir die Vrou
Nádine Skildery
Riana Nel Die Regte Tyd
Best Adult Contemporary Album
Arno Carstens Lightning Prevails
BlackByrd Home
Howie Combrink Eat it While it’s Hot
Josie Field S’bongile
Niemand Back Again

Beste Kontemporêre Musiek Album
Adam Tas Want Jy is Boer
Chris Chameleon & Posduif Daniella Deysel Dewald Wasserfall #EkEnJy
Dozi Hande Vol Genade
Pieter Koen Wat die Hart Van Vol Is
Best African Adult Album
Kelly Khumalo Back to My Roots
Maleh You Make My Heart Go
Max-Hoba Travelling Man
Ringo Mandlingozi Vulani
Simphiwe Dana Firebrand
Best Alternative Album
Bittereinder Skerm
Bye Beneco Space Elephant
Dassie Mistress
Jeremy Loops Trading Change
Tailor Light

Best R&B/Soul/Reggae Album
Afrotraction For the Lovers
Lulu Dikana I Came to Love
Moneoa Ndim Lo
The Soil Nostalgic Moments
Vusi Nova Did It for Love
Best Rap Album
AKA Levels
Duncan Street Government
Cassper Nyovest Tsholofelo
K.O. Skhanda Republic
Reason Audio High Definition
Best Kwaito Album
L’vovo Derrango The Boss
Phi & Ginger Licence to Hustle
Professor University of Kalawa Jazmee Since 1994
Thebe Legend
Trompies Delicious

Best Dance Album
Black Motion Fortune Teller
Bucie Princess of House (Easy to Love)
Cuebur The Brand New Me: Soul Candi Sessions 2015 (Disc 2)
Da Capo Da Capo DJ Clock The 4th Tick: A Clockumentary
Best Traditional Faith Music Album
Andile KaMajola Chapter 6 Ujehova Ungibiyele
Rebecca Malope Ama VIP
Rofhiwa Manyaga Victory in the Blood
S’fiso Ncwane Bayede Baba
Worship House Live Project 11
Best Contemporary Faith Music Album
Khaya Mthethwa The Uprising (Limited Edition)
Loyiso Bala Power Love Sound
Ndo Dlakadla Rhythm of Worship
Tebello Sukwene He’s Alive
Word and Life Freedom

Best Traditional Music Album
Botlhale Boikanyo Spoken Word & Music
Brian Finch Living for Yesterday
Imfez’emnyama Palesa
Impumelelo Isiporoporo
Qadasi (David Jenkins) Uhambo Olusha
Best Maskandi Album
Abakwamnyandu KoMalume
Amawele Ka Mamtshawe Mhla Uphelamandla
Ichwane Lebhaca Ohulumeni
Maqhinga Radebe iFacebook
Thokozani Langa Igema Lami
Best Jazz Album
Herbie Tsoaeli African Time Quartet in Concert
Kyle Shepherd Trio Dream State
Marcus Wyatt & Maji Maji in the Land of Milk and Honey Language 12
McCoy Mrubata Brasskap Sessions Vol. 2
Nduduzo Makhathini Mother Tongue

Best Classical and/or Instrumental Album
CH2 Guitar Duo Soos in die Ou Dae
Charl du Plessis Trio Baroqueswing
Tony Cox Padkos
University of Pretoria Phoenix Camerata
Wouter Kellerman Winds of Samsara
Best Live DVD
Benjamin Dube Renewal in His Presence (producers: Aubrey Peacock & Benjamin Dube)
Krone Krone Live (producer: Ben Heyns)
Lira First Decade (producer: Robin Kohl)
Spirit of Praise Spirit of Praise Vol. 5 (producers: Aubrey Peacock, Benjamin Dube & Oupa Montshiwagae) Various Artists Innibos is Groot 2014 ‘Live’ (producer: Barry Pretorius)

Best Collaboration
AKA ft. K.O. Run Jozi
Cassper Nyovest ft. Gusheshe OkMalumkoolkat
DJ Clock ft. Beatenberg Pluto
K.O. ft. Kid X Caracara
The Soil ft. Ladysmith Hamba Uyosebenza Black Mambazo

Best Music Video of the Year
Alessio Bettocchi (director) Yaya by DJ Dimplez ft. Dream Team & Anatii
Mzi Kumalo (director) Turn You On by Mi Casa
Ryan Kruger (director) Let the Night In by Prime Circle
Kyle Lewis (director) In Defence of My Art by Tumi Molekane
Zakes Bantwini (director) Ghetto by Zakes Bantwini
Best Producer of the Year
Lulu Dikana & Powella Tiemo I Came to Love by Lulu Dikana
Ewald Jansen van Rensburg Negatives by Monark
Denholm Harding Let the Night In by Prime Circle
David Scott KIFF by The Kiffness
Wouter Kellerman & Winds of Samsara by Wouter Kellerman Ricky Kej
Best Engineer of the Year
Brian O’Shea, Crighton Johnny Apple by Johnny Apple Goodwill & Marius Brouwer
Dave Reynolds & Peter The Light of Day by Dave Reynolds Pearlson Peter Auret Brasskap Sessions Vol. 2 by McCoy Mrubata
Brendyn ‘Rusti’ Rossouw Let the Night In by Prime Circle
Jürgen von Wechmar, Ascension by Toya Delazy Rogan Kelsey, Ross Fink & Jaziel Sommers

Remix of the Year
DJ Sbu, Robbie Malinga Indlela Yam by DJ Sbu & Mojalefa Thebe
Select Play Tsiki Tsiki Remix by Duncan
Goldfish Moonwalk Away (Goldfish Moon Landing Mix) Radio Edit by Goldfish
Heavy K Personal Paradise Remix by Danny K ft. Donald
Riky Rick Amantombazane by Riky Rick
Category winners to be announced at the awards ceremony:
• International Achievement Awards
• Lifetime Achievement Awards
• Best Selling Album
• Best Selling DVD
• Best Selling Mobile Music Download
• Best Selling Ring-Back Tone
• Best Selling Full-Track Download
• Highest Airplay of the Year
The XXI Annual South African Music Awards are made possible with the generous support of official broadcast sponsor SABC1, Amstel Lager, official vehicle sponsor Kia Motors SA and event sponsor Sun International, supported by the National Department of Arts and Culture.