Late applications for all Universities and TVET Colleges

CACH: 2024 Late applications for all Universities and TVET Colleges

Central Application Clearing House (CACH) applications are open from the 26th of January 2024 to 31 March 2024. Students who matriculated from the year 2000 onwards and have not received firm offers from tertiary institutions are eligible to apply.

All public Universities, Colleges and SETAs have been requested to redirect students who walk into their institutions to the CACH. Late applications only apply to programmes where there is still space available (see list below) and only to national applicants. The Department of Higher Education and Training (DHET) have set up a Central Applications Clearing House (CACH) whose purpose is to advise prospective applicants on available study spaces at other tertiary institutions. It is important to note that there is no guarantee for space into residence should an applicant be accepted academically.

The (CACH) service for 2024 is open from 26 January 2024 until 31 March 2024.

Learners who have completed Grade 12 from 2000 onwards will be eligible to sign-up.

Sign-ups to CACH must be online on this website.

Sign-ups are open from 26 January 2024 until 31 March 2024.

When completing a sign-up, you will need the following:

  1. A copy of your NSC/SC Certificate or Statement of Results.
    • You are required to enter your ID/Passport Number or Examination Number, Name, Surname and Date of Birth exactly as it appears on your NSC statement of results or your NSC/SC certificate so we can retrieve your final Grade 12 results directly from the Department of Education (DBE).
  2. Cellphone Number
  3. Email Address
    • For communications at different stages in the sign up process e.g. on receipt of your sign up and to inform you of any offers you may receive.
    • If you do not have a valid email address, you will be given an option to create a gmail address for communications

Contact details for CACH

Website: cach.dhet.gov.za

It is important that applicants ensure that they meet the minimum admission and subject requirements for their chosen programmes.

  1. University of KwaZulu-Natal Durban …
  2. University of Pretoria Pretoria
  3. University of the Witwatersrand Johannesburg
  4. University of Cape Town Cape Town
  5. University of Johannesburg Johannesburg
  6. North-West University Potchefstroom
  7. Universiteit Stellenbosch Stellenbosch
  8. University of the Western Cape Bellville
  9. Rhodes University Grahamstown
  10. Universiteit van die Vrystaat Bloemfontein
  11. Cape Peninsula University of Technology Cape Town
  12. Nelson Mandela University Port Elizabeth
  13. Tshwane University of Technology Pretoria
  14. University of Fort Hare Alice
  15. Durban University of Technology Durban
  16. Central University of Technology Bloemfontein
  17. Vaal University of Technology Vanderbijlpark
  18. University of Limpopo Mankweng
  19. Walter Sisulu University Mthatha
  20. University of Zululand Kwadlangezwa
  21. University of Venda Thohoyandou
  22. Mangosuthu University of Technology Durban
  23. Sefako Makgatho Health Sciences University Pretoria
  24. University of Mpumalanga Nelspruit
  25. Sol Plaatje University Kimberley


The Central Applications Clearing House (CACH) service aims to match applicants’ exam results and study preferences with places that need to be filled, but cannot guarantee that you will be offered a place. Sall take your Grade 12 results directly from the Department of Basic Education. If you want to study at a specific institution only, you should not apply through CACH but contact that institution directly. If you have already applied to a University and or TVET College and your application was not successful the CACH service provides an alternative mechanism to access opportunities at other institutions. The CACH service does guarantee that applicant data will be actively distributed and made available to all possible institutions in the PSET system.

The CACH Service provides referral to the following:

  • National Student Financial Aid Scheme on 080 006 7327 or www.nsfas.org.za
  • Career Centre on 086 999 0123 or www.careerhelp.org.za
  • Department of Higher Education and Training on 0800 087 2222 or www.dhet.gov.za
  • Artisan Support (National Artisan Development Support Centre) on 086 999 0125

Or you may contact them directly.

For details of publicly funded Universities and Technical and Vocational Education and Training Colleges in your province, click here.

Click on the link below for list of: SETA’s offering learnership