University of KwaZulu-Natal (UKZN)

The university was formed by the merger of the University of Natal and the University of Durban-Westville, in 2004. The University of KwaZulu-Natal or UKZN is a university with five campuses in the province of KwaZulu-Natal in South Africa. It was formed on 1 January 2004 after the merger between the University of Natal and the University of Durban-Westville.

The university is governed in accordance with the Higher Education Act of 1997 and its constitution is specified in the Statute of the University of KwaZulu-Natal, as approved by the South African Minister of Education and the Parliament of South Africa.

The University of KwathZulu-Natal is a multi-campus, residential, teaching and research-led university located in the picturesque province of KwaZulu-Natal. The University has a proud and rich heritage of academic excellence.  The year 2010 marked the centenary of Higher Education in the province of KwaZulu-Natal – a centenary of scholarship, innovation and community engagement.  This vast wealth of knowledge production lies at the heart of the University’s success as one of the top institutions on the African continent.

Departments and Schools

College of Agriculture, Engineering and Science
School of Engineering
School of Agricultural, Earth and Environmental Sciences
School of Chemistry and Physics
School of Life Sciences
School Mathematics, Statistics and Computer Science
College of Health Sciences
School of Clinical Medicine
School of Laboratory Medicine & Medical Sciences
School of Health Sciences
School of Nursing & Public Health
College of Humanities
School of Religion, Philosophy and Classics
School of Arts
School of Social Sciences
School of Applied Human Sciences
School of Built Environment and Development Studies
School of Education
College of Law and Management Studies
Graduate School of Business and Leadership
School of Accounting, Economics and Finance
School of Law
School of Management, IT and Governance

How to Apply

All South African applicants for first time study at UKZN must apply via CAO. Consult www.cao.ac.za  to download a CAO application form or to apply online. Click here  for information on application procedures, programmes offered, closing dates and entrance requirements and to access UKZN Undergraduate Prospectus.

Transfers:If you want to transfer to UKZN for undergraduate studies from another institution: Apply via CAO. Consult www.cao.ac.za. Indicate proposed year of study on the form. Credits will be considered at/after registration.

International undergraduate applicants: Click here to download a UKZN Undergraduate Application form and for relevant information in the Undergraduate Prospectus.

All Postgraduate Applicants: Click here to download a UKZN Postgraduate Application form from on the same site consult the Postgraduate Application Guide for information qualifications offered and contact detail.

Applications by currently registered UKZN students : Click here to download the internal application forms for transfer to another qualification or for application to postgraduate study.

Applications for financial aid must be made as follows

  • First time entrants at UKZN: indicate on the CAO form that you want apply for NSFAS funding. The CAO will provide your information to NSFAS who now administers these loans.
  • Applicants who have been registered at UKZN must contact NSFAS directly.
  • For additional information and to request hard copy application forms: Please provide your postal address and indicate type of form you require if you are not able to download forms or if you would prefer hard copies of the material.  to send request via online facility.

Contact Details