University of Johannesburg (UJ)

University of Johannesburg has four Campuses namely: Soweto Campus, Doornfontein Campus, Bunting Campus, Auckland Park Campus.

The University of Johannesburg (known colloquially as ‘UJ) is a public university located in Johannesburg, South Africa. The University of Johannesburg came into existence on 1 January 2005 as the result of a merger between the Rand Afrikaans University (RAU), the Technikon Witwatersrand(TWR), the Soweto and East Rand campuses of Vista University. Prior to the merger, the Daveyton and Soweto campuses of the former Vista University had been incorporated into RAU.

The newly emerged institution is one of the largest comprehensive contact universities in South Africa, with nine faculties having more than 90 departments and an enrollment of approximately 48,000 students, spreading over four different campuses.


Faculty of Art, Design and Architecture

Faculty of Economic and Financial Sciences

Faculty of Education

Faculty of Engineering and the Built Environment

Faculty of Health Sciences

Faculty of Law

Faculty of Management

Faculty of Science

Faculty of Humanities

How to Apply

Academic Applications

UJ has two different methods of applying.  You have the option to choose only one of the following:

  • Online Web Application = Free( click here to Apply Online)
  • Paper-based Application = R200 (click here to download the hardcopy application form)

NB.Online application related enquiries may be sent via email to [email protected] or you may contact the UJ Call Centre on 011 559 4555

Residential Applications

Click here to Apply Online for Residence

 Contact Details
Enquiry Type Contact Phone / Fax / Address
Admission enquiries Admission

+27 (0) 11 559 4555

[email protected]

General / study related enquiries UJ call centre

+27 (0) 11 559-4555

Media enquiries Esterhuizen Herman

+27 (0) 11 559-6653

[email protected]

Postal Address UJ Administration

University of Johannesburg

PO Box 524
Auckland Park
South Africa


Title GPS Coordinates Campus Address
Auckland Park Bunting Road Campus S26 11 25.5 E28 01 09.5

Bunting Road, Auckland Park

Auckland Park Kingsway Campus S26 10 54.9 E27 59 53.9

Corner Kingsway and University Road, Auckland Park

Bunting Road Faculty of Art, Design and Architecture  

Bunting Road, Auckland Park

Doornfontein Campus S26 11 32.6 E28 03 28.9

Cnr Siemert & Beit Streets, Doornfontein

Grasdak / Lapa    
Kingsway, Bunting and Doornfontein Campuses    
Kingsway, Bunting and Soweto Campuses    
Kingsway, Bunting, Doornfontein and Soweto Campuses    
School for Tourism and Hospitality  

Bunting Road, Auckland Park

Soweto Campus S26 15 34.3 E27 55 26.3

Old Potch, Road Soweto

Website: www.uj.ac.za